2019 Thoreson Steffes Young Artists Solo Competition is set for Saturday, January 5 at Minnesota State University Moorhead.

This competition is open to senior high instrumentalists (students in the 10th, 11th, and 12th grades) including pianists. Last year's event was held Saturday, January 6, 2018 at Hvidsten Hall of Music at Concordia College in Moorhead. Every year we rotate between the music buildings of MSUM, NDSU and Concordia College. 

YASC 2018 winnersbanner.jpg

The winners were (pictured above) violinist Philip Dowdell (2nd place), clarinetist Joanna Lin (1st place) and flutist Mary Grotberg (3rd place). Joanna Lin performed as soloist with the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra in the March Masterworks concerts.

If you are interested in applying to be a contestant next year, guidelines and application forms will be available on this site by August 1, 2018.

Contestants should select a piece from the approved repertoire list linked here. Any requests for substitutions to the repertory must be approved by the FMSO Executive Director, Linda Boyd, by calling 701-478-3676.  

Presented by the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra and Minnesota Public Radio Classical 91.1 FM

 Corporate Sponsor of Young Artists Solo Competition

Corporate Sponsor of Young Artists Solo Competition

Thanks to the generous donors who made this year's competition possible:

MAJOR CONTRIBUTOR: Roger Minch, Greg & Jill Post

ASSOCIATE UNDERWRITERS: Steve & Diane Hulbert, Sam and Coralie Wai

CONTRIBUTORS: John & Carol Sue Andreasen, Yvonne Condell, Peggy Gaynor, Diane Wolter & Mark Gealy, J. Robert & Lois Hanson, Don & Jo Kilander, Erling Linde

ADDITIONAL OPPORTUNITY: You can use the SAME application form to apply to Minnesota Public Radio's Minnesota Varsity program for high school-aged performers. Deadline for this application is December 4, 2017.