P.I. Tchaikovsky
   Dances from The Nutcracker

Antonio Vivaldi
   "Winter" from The Four Seasons
      with concertmaster BENJAMIN SUNG

Dmitri Shostakovich
   Symphony No. 11 "The Year 1905"

frostival finale

Saturday, January 27 at 7:30 pm
Sunday, January 28 at 2:00 pm
NDSU Festival Concert Hall

WINTER is the star of the pieces on this concert program, in keeping with the celebratory Frostival vibe.  Delectable and familiar favorites from Peter Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker ballet open the performance, followed by our own concertmaster Benjamin Sung performing the virtuosic solo violin part to Antionio Vivaldi's "Winter" movement of his famous Four Seasons.

Following intermission, Dmitri Shostakovich's epic and dramatic Symphony No. 11 "The Year 1905) will sweep you away to the steppes of Russia and the stirrings of revolution. Images of the events evoked in the music will be shown above the stage during the performance.

Before the concert and at intermission you can enjoy beverage service in the lobby beginning an hour before the performance, and a free pre-concert talk about the music by conductor Christopher Zimmerman in the adjacent recitall hall just off the lobby beginning 45 minutes before the performance.

Sneak-Peek Playlist: Listen to the pieces that will be performed at this weekend's Frostival Finale concerts! 



This concert is a collaboration with FROSTIVAL,
the community-wide event presented by the FMCVB.