Saturday, Jan. 28 at 7:30 pm
Sunday, Jan. 29 at 2:00 pm


NOTE - This concert features a smaller, chamber-sized orchestra

Aaron Copland
   Music for Theatre

Astor Piazzolla
   The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires
   featuring violinist

W.A. Mozart
   Symphony No. 40

The dead of winter is the perfect time to get up close and personal with the sizzling, tango-infused "The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires." Argentinian composer Astor Piazzolla is famed for bridging the worlds of classical music and steamy tangos. Using a template of intimate violin concertos strung together as a single piece centuries earlier by Antonio Vivaldi ("The Four Seasons"), Piazzolla creates a virtuoso showpiece for solo violin and string orchestra. Bringing violinist CHEE-YUN back to Fargo-Moorhead to perform this piece was a slam-dunk - she lit up the house with her fiery, passionate playing when she was here during the 2013-14 season.

A smaller version of the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony will show off its virtuosity in a lesser-known work by Aaron Copland as well as one of Mozart's most beloved masterworks.

Read "An Intimate Evening with the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony" article by John Showalter in the High Plains Reader.

Read the program notes which give more detail about the three pieces on the concert.

Enjoy a sample of Chee-Yun performing The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires: